Marvel Firsts: The 1960s (2011)

Various writers and artists

I liked Marvel Firsts: The 1970s so much, I bought this big collection (488 pages!) of most of Marvel’s famous (and infamous) creations from the 1960s. Included are the first appearances of the Rawhide Kid, Dr. Droom, the Fantastic Four, Ant-Man, the Hulk, Spider-Man, Thor, the Two-Gun Kid, Iron Man, Sgt. Fury and his Howling Commandos, Doctor Strange, the Avengers, the X-Men, the Wasp, the Watcher, Nick Fury Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., Daredevil, the Ghost Rider (the one on the horse, not the one on the motorcycle), Captain Marvel, and even Capt. Savage and his Leatherneck Raiders. (Who?) Also featured are the first solo adventures of the Human Torch, Namor the Sub-Mariner, the Silver Surfer, Ka-Zar, Doctor Doom, and the return of Captain America. I have reprints of most of these already. and even a couple of the original comics. (I’ll let you hunt for them in the blog.) But here they are collected in one place and presented in the order of publication.

I’m exhausted from listing all the Marvel heroes and villains, so I’ll let you read the list of comic books reprinted in this TPB on the back cover.

The back cover

The writers include Stan Lee, Larry Lieber, Gary Friedrich, Roy Thomas, and Gardner Fox, with art by Gene Colan, Steve Ditko, Jack Kirby, and others.

Current collection

Leave a comment